Walmart…best place ever!

Today was one of those days as it was happening I was like is this for real…my life is awesome.

Well, it didn’t start off too well. I had to go to the hospital and take a test on heart monitoring. Let’s just say being out of the hospital for 8 months has made me forget alot. I will be brushing up on my nursing knowledge soon. (The results are still pending.)

After the test I headed home. Instead of taking the expressway home I took the back roads. It is much faster! Well as I am driving down the street all of the sudden I see this man walking across the street with a huge rat in his hand. It was at least a foot tall. He was holding it by the tail in his right hand. Now there are several things he could have been doing with this rat: showing it off to his friends, “Hey look what I found,” He might have been being selfish, “Lunch for me!” , or he might be thinking this will make a great pet, “Let me attach a string to him and tote him around.” (credit due to people who brainstormed these with me. I cannot take full credit.)

The next thing I did was work out. Nothing too interesting happened there. Walmart was the next place on my stop. Let me tell you I had the best discussion with the African-American cashier. She was so friendly and dressed so well. In fact she has been working at that Walmart for 6 years, but there is a new employee of four months who is stirrin up trouble. She told me, “Look at the black girl there.” I was like where. She said “The black girl there.” I said oh yea. She was like she is just startin stuff and she only been working here for four months. Of course I  helped to fire her up more, “Are you serious girl.” Her reply, “mmm. she don’t like me cuz I be comin up in here lookin good and all dressed up everyday. That’s how I roll girl.” Then she picked up my cans of canned chicken and was like, “Girl you make you some chicken salad out of that.” I told her no, but I make tons of dishes from it. I told her I learned to cook in Africa. This is when the conversation hit its peak.

Cash register lady (CRL): “Girl did you go to da south africa?”

me: No i was in west africa…I lived out in a village.

CRL: Oh I had heard there were still a couple of villages out there in Africa…So is there like an ocean near or in Africa? I had heard there was an ocean near there where people had taken the slaves?”

me: yes there is an ocean by Africa. ( I then drew a picture in the air of Africa and showed her)

CRL: “Oh girl I had seen on Oprah when she had gone to some place along the cost of Africa…she went into a cave and she said you could just sense the evil in the place…you know what I mean.”

-at this point the lady standing in line behind us got in on the conversation. Her initials will be LBU

LBU: “Didn’t one of the presidents go there?”

CRL: “Yea I think it was Clinton.”

LBU: “No I think it was Obama”

me: well thanks so much you have a great day

CRL: “Girl you got some beads from Africa…you legit. I heard that Africans have beautiful jewelry…OOO girl the next time you come bring some pictures for me.”

All I can say is awesome right there. I love this lady and will making trips back up there to see her. I hope everyone’s day was eventful as mine. Needless to say it was a good/interesting day.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment