My mom was almost lost at sea

So today was another exciting day! Recently I have found myself in emergency situations. There was the bonfire incident, work of course, and then today…After eating my cereal, drinking my cup of coffee, and getting sunscreened up I headed down to the beach. My backpack was filled with a few books in it mainly about marriage and family for my J-term class. My mom was my only beach buddy this morning. We sat and talked for a while and then her being the water bug she was set out for the ocean. I joined her shortly after her departure from me. As i was heading in she signaled for me to bring her noodle out to her to help her float. Being the wonderful, godly daughter that I am I obeyed her ;). The water was freezing when I first got in. Once in though it seemed to warm up a bit. The current was strong and my bathing suit top was not so I decided to head back to the sand in order to to expose anyone that was on the beach to my top coming off with a wave. I picked up one of my books and was about 4 pages into reading when all of the sudden I heard coming from the direction of the ocean, “Help! Monica Help me!” I looked up and there was my mom calling me in distress. I have been on high alert since the bonfire…so all of the sudden I wasn’t even thinking I threw my glasses off and held my top and went and dove in the ocean and started swimming out to my mom. Thankfully there were some people close to her that went out and brought her in some. She wasn’t drowning…what had happened was an undertow was taking her out to sea. After being pulled back in by these strangers she started drifting back out again. I had to go out, get her, and walk her back to the chairs. Once we got back to the chairs we both took a sign of relief. Our hearts were beating so hard and fast. My mom said it was one of the scariest things. I agree with her.After that brief incident we all stayed out of the water. I enjoyed telling the story to the rest of my family. My brother said he even heard my mom yelling half way down the beach.

We ended up fixing hamburgers for dinner tonight. Oh my meat is delicious! We ate out at the pavilion. We love eating there because we can fix our own food (cheap) and we get to eat by the ocean. Tonight there were many families down there cooking food and eating at the tables set up. One of the families had music playing. It was old school music but I like it. One song came on and I asked my dad to dance with me but he turned me down. I can say I have been rejected now. A few songs later my girl came on…i had my mom to dance with me since no one else would. She agreed so we danced. It was so funny i just laughed thinking the people here probably think i am crazy but hey i will never see them again so why not have a good time and allow them the opportunity to laugh too.

It was a good day. Still had its up and downs but that is life and it is all a blessing. All i can say is : I LOVE MY LIFE.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment